Frequenty Asked Questions

Who can make a nomination?

The awards are open to anyone who meets the criteria of the related category within the awards. Kindly see the terms and conditions of the awards.

Can I nominate myself or my own company?

We accept self-nominated and third party entries for both organizations and individuals.

Can I enter more than one category?

Yes, you can enter as many categories as you want. Just make sure that you meet the eligibility criteria for each category before submitting.

You can enter your establishment in up to 6 categories and not just one - this means that a Guest House, for e.g. can enter in the Accommodation Category, Visitor Experience Category, and MESE Category as well as Universal Accessibility Category.

What are the benefits of entering the Awards?

This is a great opportunity for you and your business to be recognised and rewarded. The awards present a great opportunity to showcase your business and network with fellow professionals.

How do I enter?

Simply complete the entry form within the category you wish to enter your establishment. Please make sure you adhere to all the rules for that category and attach all the documents required for that category otherwise you will be disqualified.

Also make sure that you enter into the correct category. If you are an accommodation establishment, please make sure you enter into the category you are graded under. Failure to do so will lead to your entry not being considered.

Please add as much detail as possible in your entry to make it easier for the judging panel and consumers to vote for you.

If I have more comments or queries, who should I direct them to?

Please send all comments and queries to

What are the Entry Requirements?

Entry into the awards is free but there are certain requirements businesses need to fulfil for their application to be successfully processed:

  • South African Tourism Business operating for a minimum of year
  • Meet all the legal requirements for the type of business they operate
  • Categories will cater for Small and Large Enterprises where these levels of recognition are necessary
  • Each category, based on its particular business requirements, will have criteria specific to it and the adjudication process supported by the relevant industry association.
  • All accommodation and MESE establishments must be members of a community tourism organisation.